Kai2k

Which brake fluid?

Hi all. I’m looking to do a brake fluid flush. My handbook simply says use DOT4. Has anyone used DOT5? I’ve read this may not play with ABS systems nicely but I’d like to use DOT5 if poss. Failing this is any DOT4 suitable or do people recommend a brand?

thanks. 

I have no experience with more current types or MINIs, sorry.

But personally,  I would go with the handbook as it used to be the case that there types had different ingredients and this use to play havoc with seals (getting past them and dissolving them etc.)

@Kettlepot thanks for the reply. Yes good old dot 4 is my default option, but further reading suggests it’s only dot 5 that should be avoided as opposed to 5.1, given it is silicone based. Dot 5.1 appears to comprise of silicone free ingredient similar to the others. I’ll keep researching but if I’ve any doubt I’ll go dot 4 from a reputable brand. 

Would you notice the difference In the feel ? 
or is it other factors such the heat it can withstand before it boils etc

For what it’s worth I went DOT4. I didn’t feel DOT5 was worth it. Your right on the different DOT5s, you have to be really careful you don’t pick up the wrong one. 

ive got 2 bottles of MOTUL DOT4 that I’ll do at a good price for you that I’ve spare from my recent brake bleed 😃

2 hours ago, Kettlepot said:

Would you notice the difference In the feel ? 
or is it other factors such the heat it can withstand before it boils etc

It’s just to potentially make it less likely to boil on the very odd occasion I drive it quickly. 

1 hour ago, Mr Watton said:

For what it’s worth I went DOT4. I didn’t feel DOT5 was worth it. Your right on the different DOT5s, you have to be really careful you don’t pick up the wrong one. 

ive got 2 bottles of MOTUL DOT4 that I’ll do at a good price for you that I’ve spare from my recent brake bleed 😃